header LOBMBC Logo outine

Lowestoft & Oulton Broad

Motor Boat Club

Founded 1933

Race Night 1 / April 25

The first  race evening of the 2019 season for the Lowestoft & Oulton Broad Motor Boat Club brought out two novice drivers from it's training program and not only resulted in both of them walking away with winners trophies but a "clean sweep" of the podium places for one family, never known to have happened before in the clubs previous 86 year history.


A good field of GT15 Monohulls took to the circuit, racing for the Oxford Arms Trophy and consisting of young, fearless drivers eagerly building their reputations and helping to support this  "grass roots" class, introducing 9 year old Abbie Haylock to the fray, producing three very competitive heats for all drivers. Tremendous applause at the presentation saw the debuting youngster Abbie take first place with the rest of the Oulton Broad Water Sports Centre supported team of Jessica and Joseph Haylock team having to settle for second and third. What a way to start a career !


Four Catamarans commenced the Sportsboat heats but soon engine gremlins depleted the class to three. Those left raced hard with the very fast Sam Whittle attempting to beat the competition and his handicap but sadly saw him failing to finish the third heat due to engine problems. Novice driver, local businessman Colin Stewart was complimented by Commodore Peter Mantripp , on his progressively improving driving throughout the heats as he took first place and Anglian Tanks & Vessels Trophy with Ray Birnie having to settle for second but welcoming another " Big Cat" to the circuit.


The Hydroplane heats were as competitive as ever, although down somewhat in numbers with some drivers not having appeared from "winter hibernation", those present got back into the swing of things. The "Greens of Beccles" Wayne Turner once again fought back from a three lap handicap to lift the R Brooks Roofing Trophy with stalwart drivers Karon Jude and David Smith heading the Yamato  class in second and third.


John Soanes